NSW Golf

Qld Men's and Women's Amateur Championship

1 - 2 September 2016

The Queensland Men's and Women's Amateur Championship (matchplay) is contested by the sixteen lowest scores of the 72-holes of the Queensland Men's and Women's Stroke Play Championship. It is conducted by Golf Queensland

Visit the websites of the host club - Pacific Harbour Golf & Country Club


After a clean sweep by Queenslanders last year, New South Wales has continued their domination of 2016 interstate tournaments taking out the 2016 Men’s and Women’s Amateur Championships played at Pacific Harbour.

With half of the eight semi- final combatants hailing from Queensland (Douglas Klein, Adam Mollis, Charlie Dann and Karis Davidson), hopes were high for another clean sweep from the home state.

Standing in the way were New South Welshman Dylan Perry and Celina Yuan, Victorian Montana Strauss, and New Zealand guest Brittney Dryland.

Douglas Klein faced Champion of Champions winner Adam Mollis in the morning’s semi-final which quickly proved to be a tight tussle for the top match. Klein and Molllis were wire to wire throughout the 18-holes with the Klein’s birdie on the 19th securing him a spot in the final.

Dylan Perry remained hot all week eliminating the 5th, 8th, and 16th top seeds after already taking out the prestigious Queensland Men’s Stroke Play Championship on Tuesday. Standing in his way was Interstate medallist Charlie Dann. The Queenslander held tough the whole match, however Perry was too much for Dann to overcome, with Perry closing out the match 2/1.

In the Women’s semi-finals, New South Wales state player Celina Yuan was tested by 2015 Stroke Play Champion Karis Davidson. A series of missed putts by Davidson saw Yuan hold the advantage most of the match and ultimately steal the finale position on the 17th.

International visitor Brittney Dryland had progressed through the week positively, securing 4th seed from the stroke play. Victoria’s Montana Strauss proved stiff competition despite only returning to competition level recently. Dryland held a 1-up advantage for most of the final holes and eventually toppled Strauss 2-up.

The final was decided; Douglas Klein would face Dylan Perry in the Men’s, with fellow state resident Celina Yuan to play Brittney Dryland.

Could Dylan Perry continue his streak and claim back to back titles, 10 years after World No. 1 Jason Day?

The afternoon 18 hole final looked to be headed Dryland’s way as she led the entire match, bar two moments. Dryland held a 1-up advantage early until Yuan sunk a creaming 45ft putt on the 5th to equalise the match. Dryland took control back on the 8th hole and continued to the 11th where her precise putting further increased her 2-up lead.

Yuan made attempts to equalise the match again on the 12th and 13th however fell short until the 16th where her 10ft birdie continued the match.

Dryland faced the 17th 1-up and was unable to muster her putt to drop to take the win. A series of unfortunate events on the 18th saw Dryland struggle to find ‘dry land’ and lose two balls to the greenside water hazard. The match continued to the 18th where Yuan gathered her composure to duly hole her 15ft putt for 1-up victory and claim the 2016 Women’s Amateur title.

The Perry and Klein match was a thriller. Despite Perry holding the upper advantage since the first hole, Klein played with sheer determination and fighting spirit ready to strike at any opportunity.

The Pacific Harbour wind put on its own show for the afternoon’s contest reaching 25-25km/hr winds. Perry held an early 2-up lead due to his fierce attempts at striking all pins and closing the deal on birdie opportunities.

His lead was extended on the 7th after nestling his shot to 3ft. Perry’s 3-up advantage continued as Klein was unable to capitalise on his birdie run that featured and dominated his Thursday matches.

Perry continued to find his groove making consecutive birdies to maintain his 3-hole advantage over Klein until the par-5 14th. Klein’s birdie putt altered the match to 2-up with 3 to play, requiring every bit of fight left in him from the 36-hole marathon day.

The match was ultimately succumbed when Klein’s attempt to strike the 17th pin fell short in the left bunker with the Queenslander unable to bridge the gap. The Perry v Klein match will go down as memorable for all those watching with 1st class respect shown between both players.

Dylan Perry becomes the 5th New South Welshman to win the Queensland Amateur Championship in the past 7 years. Perry’s exceptional form is to be commemorated also adding his name in the history books as the first person to win back-to-back Queensland Stroke Play and Amateur titles since Daniel Nisbet in 2009, and Queenslander Jason Day in 2006.

Matchplay Results
Men's Amateur
Douglas Klein v Dylan Perry - Perry wins 3/1
Women's Amateur
Celina Yuan x Brittney Dyland - Yuan wins on 19th

Player Information

For further information, please contact Golf Queensland on:
Phone: (07) 3252 8155
E-mail: info@golfqueensland.org.au
Website: www.golfqueensland.org.au

19 March 2019
ANTILL PARK: Medley: Stableford 2B Agg: White: A Malone (26) P Czartowski (18) 78. A Malone (26) 40. more
NSW Golf