NSW Golf

NSW Amateur ready to return to Royal

Royal Canberra Golf Club
Royal Canberra Golf Club

The 2018 Men’s and Women’s NSW Amateur Championships are on their way to the Australian Capital Territory in January 2018, with Royal Canberra Golf Club and Gungahlin Lakes Golf Club set to host the revered events.

Graeme Phillipson, General Manager of Golf - Golf NSW, was thrilled to see the NSW Amateur return to the ACT in 2018.

“Royal Canberra and Gungahlin Lakes are two of the finest golf courses in Australia. It will be a thrill for many of our game’s elite amateurs to experience the challenge of these beautiful layouts.” Mr Phillipson said.

The Men’s NSW Amateur is one of the oldest events in world amateur golf, dating back to 1898. The list of winners who have lifted the trophy includes many players who later went on to become stars of Australian and world golf, including Bruce Devlin, Jack Newton, Brett Ogle, Peter O’Malley, and Lucas Parsons.

Two former winners, Sydney’s Jim Ferrier ( in 1931/34) and more recently, New Zealand's Michael Campbell (1992) went on to win one of golf’s Majors during their professional careers. Ferrier won the 1947 USPGA and Campbell the 2005 US Open.

One of the Canberra’s favourite golfing sons, 15-time Japanese tour winner Brendan Jones, also lifted the trophy in 1995.

Gungahlin Lakes Golf Club
Gungahlin Lakes Golf Club

The NSW Women’s Amateur Championship has been contested since 1903. Two recent past champions have come from the ACT; Nadina Campbell, who won in 1998, and Royal Canberra’s Nikki Campbell, a three-time winner from 2000 to 2002.

Over 260 Male and 140 female golfers from across Australia, the Pacific, the United Kingdom North America and Asia are expected to compete.

The tournament will consist of one round of stroke play at each of the host courses before the field is cut to the top 32 for men and top 16 for women. From there, 18-hole matchplay rounds will take place to decide the eventual finalists. A 36 hole final for both men and women will decide the Champions for 2018.

The Championships will begin on Monday, 29 January, with the 36-hole final decided on Friday, 2 February 2018. 

22 May 2018
ANTILL PARK: Medley: Stableford 2B: White: P Newton (36) K McGreavy (21) 45. 2B Scr: N Wood (3) B Murdoch (16) 33. A: N Wood (3) 34. B: S Wheatley ... more
NSW Golf