NSW Golf

Saunders wins Trimax Sand Greens

Sand Greens Champion and Junior Champion
Vaughan Saunders (Champion) and Bryan Filiponi (Junior Champion)

Beechworth's Vaughan Saunders has won the 2017 NSW Sand Greens Championship at Holbrook Golf Club.  Saunders had rounds of 73 and 76 for a four over total of 149, to win by a shot to Brett Byrnes and by two strokes to overnight leader and Clubmate Nathan Schneider and Cobar's Jacob Ryan.  Saunders is a regular competitor in the Victorian Sand Greens event and was thrilled to have the opportunity of playing in the NSW Championships at Holbrook in NSW' south.

The junior event was won by Bryan Filiponi (Thurgoona) who posted scores of 80 and 86 to win by six strokes to Maxwell Jennings from Wagga.

NSW Sand Greens Vet Champion

The NSW Veteran's Championship was held in conjunction, and the winner of this event was Steve Beattie from Condobolin, with scores of 78 and 84.

The teams event was won by Thurgoona, with team members Jason Cawthray, Nathan Schneider and Steven Filliponi.

The full results are available by clicking here.

Trimax Men's NSW Sand Greens Championship

Round 1 of the 2017 Trimax Men's NSW Sand Greens Championship has been completed at Holbrook Returned Serviceman's Club.  

The Men’s NSW Sand Greens Championship is open to male amateur golfers with a GA handicap of 27.4 or under. It is played over 36-holes stroke play, 18-holes on the first day and 18-holes on the second day.

The Championship also incorporates the NSWVGA Sand Greens Championship, the Junior Sand Greens Champion, and the NSW Sand Greens Teams Event.

Nathan Schneider (Beechworth, Vic) leads the Championship after firing an impressive even par 72.  He leads by one stroke to Cobar's Jacob Ryan and Nathan's Clubmate Vaughan Saunders.  At 3 over par is Walgett's Neil Newton (pictured), Condobolin's Brett Byrnes, and Binalong's Michael Paterson.  In September, Schneider led the Victorian Sand Greens Championship after the first round.  He is also a former NSW Country Champion and is very keen to add the NSW Sand Greens Championship trophy to this list.

Neil Newton
Walgett's Neil Newton is in contention after round 1

In the junior event, Bryan Filliponi (Thurgoona) leads by five strokes to Wagga's Maxwell jennings. 

In the nett event, Bryan also leads the field, with a nett 68, to Michael Paterson, one stroke behind.

In the Veteran's Championship, the scratch event leader is Steve Beattie (Condobolin) with 78.

The Veteran's Nett leaders are Robert Murray (Manildra) and Alan Dodgson (Condobolin) with a nett 70.

Terry Heath
Portland's Terry Heath


For further information regarding this event please contact Amos Hessell(02) 9505 9105 or amos.hessell@golfnsw.org





19 January 2019
BARNWELL PARK: Mxd: Stableford: N Hong (11) 41. more
NSW Golf